Twelve Disciples of Jesus. Original names in bold. Wednesday 18th January 2017

  1. Simon known as Peter or Cephas (son of Jonas) Shi’mon known as Kefa  Crucified upside down
  2. Andrew (Peter’s brother) Andreas (Greek name) Grecian Jew or Grecian Gentile Crucified
  3. James (son of Zebedee) Ya’akov Ben Zavdai Beheaded
  4. John (James’ brother) Yochanan Ben Zavdai Exiled for his faith, then died of old age
  5. Philip Filippos (Greek name) Grecian Jew or Grecian Gentile Crucified
  6. Bartholomew or Nathanael Bar Talmai (son of Ptolemy) Beaten then crucified
  7. Thomas (called Didymus) Tau’ma Speared to death
  8. Matthew (Tax Collector) Mattityahu or Levi Speared to death
  9. James (son of Alphaeus) Ya’akov Stoned to death
  10. Thaddeus (also known as Judas) Son of James and Lebbaeus Theudas Yehuda Stoned to death
  11. Simon the Canaanite / Simon the Zealot Shi’mon Crucified
  12. Judas Iscariot (son of Simon) Yehuda Suicide
  13. Matthias Stoned to death